Reviews
Best accommodation we stayed at on our holiday in Sicily- October 2017

 

You won’t regret booking a room at Villa Britannia. This was by some distance the best accommodation we stayed at during our tour of Sicily. We loved it so much we changed our plans to stay an extra evening. The welcome we received from both Louisa and Marco was second to none -explaining everything thing from what to do to where to eat (they are big foodies). The room itself was beautifully appointed and very large with a beautiful terrace to sit and enjoy the view. Their villa is only a short walk (approx 5-10mins) into town with onsite parking available for guests (Just FYI it’s a bit of challenge getting there by car, especially if you use google maps which places you in the wrong spot – be sure to have a good look online before you set off – you have to pass near the centre of town and enter the culdesac via a narrow stone archway.). Their breakfast out on the terrace was wonderful and a great way to start each day. In particular it was Marco and Louisa who made the stay so special (it was our honeymoon and they had generously placed a bottle of sparkling in the fridge for us to enjoy one evening). I can’t thank them enough for their amazing hospitality and will definitely be back in the future.

Holiday to remember September 2017

 

We spent six nights at Villa Britannia. It was an idyllic time. Our hosts, Louisa and Marco were amazing. They made us feel completely at home in the villa. The terrace was a wonderful place to spend the afternoons, sipping wine. The rooms were extremely well equipped and comfortable. The kitchen was fantastic and could be used to prepare lunch. Taormina was a fantastic holiday destination with plenty to do. We did lots of walking and exploring. Louisa and Marco gave us advice on dining options and made bookings for us. Overall a wonderful week, we would definitely go back and stay at Villa Britannia.

Wonderfully hospitable owners, beautiful villa and great location

From the start, we were graciously welcomed street side by Marco (one of the owners) as we arrived, and escorted to our room.
We were with a friend who dropped us off, and Marco offered all of us a welcoming drink and brought it to our room.

The room was immaculate, beautifully decorated and spacious.
The balcony was enormous, with lovely tiles, a table, reclining chairs, a parasol and provided a panoramic view of the area.

The first day’s breakfast was continental in style, with a vast array of breads, croissants, homemade jams, marmelades, honey, hard boiled eggs, cereals – both sweet and savory options.
The location was excellent, being on a quiet street, and just a small walk from the city center.

The room was really comfortable, equipped with all the amenities you could ask for – a modern A/C with remote, tv, wi-fi, a mini fridge and spacious bathroom.
What made the stay so memorable for us, was the hospitality of the owners, Louisa and Marco, a young couple. Marco is Italian and Louisa is half English and half Italian – both are fluent in English and of course Italian.

Once, after speaking with Marco about the granita (semi-frozen dessert) being a typical Italian breakfast in that area during the summer, he graciously offered to serve it to us the next morning. Sure enough, the next morning Louisa had it ready for us, and it came, in typical style, with panna (whipped cream) and a brioche. Unbelievably satisfying and we could experience Sicilian lifestyle.

Throughout our stay, Marco and Louisa made themselves available, without being intrusive, and always in the most friendly way – I cannot speak more highly of them.
Show less

Perfect place to stay in Taormina August 2017

When you arrive at Villa Britannia, you are welcomed by Louisa & Marco…and you just feel like home, in a peaceful place.
The whole house is beautifully decorated, the garden, the vegetation around the house make you really feel in holidays.
The rooms are clean, spacious, with a balcony and a unique view on the sea and on Taormina.
Sincerely, thank you Louisa & Marco for their hospitality.
That was an unforgettable stay in Villa Britannia and we hope to come back soon

excellent place to stay and enjoy – July 2017

!
Very nice place, with great and friendly hosts !!!
Always with a smile helping us in anything we need !!!
It was a real pleasure enjoying those days in Taormina !!!
The room was very nice and clean; idem the bathroom and the breakfast was also very nice served at the terrace !!!

simply wonderful July 2017

Every now again when one is travelling you have an experience which sits above everything else and stays in the memory long after it is all over. Staying at Villa Brittania with Louisa andnd Marco is one such experience. Note I use the name of the hosts as my point of reference. I do this because you get so much more than just a B&B here, (indeed the title B&B is slightly wrong in this context, read on to understand). L&M are the consummate hosts. Immediately welcoming from the outset, out on the street in the blazing sun waiting for the grumpy taxi driver and helping lug our very hevay suitcases up the stairs case in point. Over our three nights nothing was too much trouble, suggestions and bookings of restaurants, booking of tix to opera, drivers for tours, the list goest and on. All 5* hotel concierge stuff I hear you say, well yes but what you don’t get is a home cooked meal to equal any 5* restaurant (best meal experienced in Sicily) you don’t get a breakfast with home made jams and tomatoes, eggs and basil straight from garden all served on a delightful terrace overlooking the town and sea. The towels are as white and fluffy as any high end place, ditto the bed linen. We enjoyed the Truman Capote room, (yes fine literary heritage here with DH Lawrence once living on the estate) and a stunning 180 degree view of sea and town from our terrace. We left feeling sad, we want to come back, always a good sign that the experience was perfect. This is a unique offering, value for money is extraordinary and in some ways I want to keep it a secret but that would not be fair so here is my advice. You will love this place!

the perfect place to stay in Taormina – July 2017

Villa Britannia was one of the best places we have ever stayed.
The location is perfect for visiting Taormina – far enough outside the main town to be peaceful, but only a 5-10 min walk to the main tourist area.
The villa is beautiful. We stayed in the Truman Capote room which was lovely, with a large private balcony with lovely views. The room is large with a good sized en suite bathroom, and lovely furniture and décor.
There are only two bedrooms in the villa. The lounge is large and shared with the other guests, however we had it to ourselves each evening when we came back from an evening out.
Breakfasts are served on the lovely terrace. There is also a delightful garden area, with colourful ceramics, where we had a welcome drink and nibbles.
The main joy of staying at Villa Britannia, however, was meeting the hosts, Marco and Louisa, and their gorgeous baby Leia, and the friendly dog! Both Marco and Louisa were very welcoming, and extremely helpful with tips and ideas, booking trips and restaurants for us.
We hope to return!

Excellent situation, charming service – June 2017

We didn’t stay there – just went in to see what it was like and had coffee there. Beautiful views over Taormina, lovely gardens, superbly done up inside with some really gorgeous furnishings and delightful people who run it.

Perhaps our best ever holiday ever- may 2017

 

The Villa has two large suites, both equally stunning, providing sea views and elevated views of the nearby central area of town, while still nicely away from the daytime hustle and bustle, a huge lounge and terrace downstairs and whimsical garden; this was our ideal refuge after busy days site-seeing. Marco and Louisa are fabulous hosts who materialized each morning with wonderful breakfast delights, ensuring all our needs were met during our stay, including access to a selected range of Sicilian wines for our enjoyment, then left us to enjoy the delightful villa and its many pieces of local art. It was a perfect choice for two couples who are long term friends to meet again, wander the town and savor the large range of restaurants until we found our favorites the Ristorante Arco dei Cappuccini and La Zagara. Thank you Marco and Louisa for making us so comfortable in what felt like our very own villa!

could not ask for more – April 2017

It is a diamond this charming, cosy B&B. I started looking for a short cooking class in Taormina while back in Toronto. The Villa Brittania site kept popping up and I read about it over and over so I jotted down the address and phone number in case there was time to take and space to take a class. Once we arrived in Taormina I called and was kindly greeted on the phone by the owner of Villa Brittania, Luisa. She was so kind and was happy to include me in the next evenings Sicilian Cooking class! How wonderful and lucky I thought.
As I ascended the inviting steps I was immediately captivated, pieces of statuary, ceramic ware and an abundance of healthy and happy vegetation greeted me and I immediately felt at home.
Luisa, Marco (Luisas husband) and Chef Pippo greeted us. After introductions the magic began. We each donned an apron and were included in the preparation of each dish. Tips, secrets and methods are intriguing and so helpful for us to make these most delicious meals in our own kitchens.
Ingredients all fresh and local, Chef Pippo masterfully made a pasta dough and we each had our hand in making the macaroni, how wonderful it was to be hands on in such a beautiful environment.
Our dishes were stuffed anchovies, Pasta al la Norma, rolled fillets of swordfish and a fennel, orange and sweet red Sicilian onion so famous in Sicily.
We watched, listened and learned from each other, it was just perfect.
We enjoyed Prosecco while prepping our meal and when we were ready to eat, invited to sit on the terrace, al fresco as only can be had in Sicily.
Each of our courses were paired with a wine chosen by Marco, a wine expert in Sicilian wines.
I have to say that our meal was unforgettably delicious!
Once fully satiated we retired into the gathering room, sat on comfortable large couches and were served a ricotta crostata, so fresh and buttery. One more drink, a special home made mandarins liquor! Wow! wow, wow!
How can I thank you enough for your most precious space, and how you open your home so gracefully for others to enjoy.
A home away from home, inviting, thoughtful and precious indeed.
Thank you once again, I shall return!
Un Abbraccio, Dolores from Canada!

HOME AWAY FRO HOME – January 2017

 

I wish I could live here for good – January 2017

Villa Britannia – i nearly didnt go to taormina frightened off by it’s popularity and mass appeal. But i was asked to change my mind re this by my travel companion – and
am i glad i did !
For this meant i experienced the seductive charm of villa britannia and its owner-hosts ….

For bliss it was to stay here …the villa has such melt-your-heart views from both bedrooms , the terraces and balconies
it has two bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms …but it’s no small space …it’s a graciously proportioned beautifully appointed home – yes it does look and feel like a dream homehttp://www.villabritannia.com
it is on a quiet street not more than a 7 to 8 minute slow walk to the city centre
i was so happy that i didnt stay anywhere near the city centre given taormina’s crowds…so this was perfect location …and they had a garage to park our car …which we never needed to use once we drove in from catania …

and as for the people factor which made this stay one of the three absolute highlights of our trip to sicily – nothing could be warmer, more authentic and generous than louisa’s and marco’s hosting ! nothing !
villa britannia is a beautiful property …but their owner hosts are even more so

they made our stay such a genuine pleasure …their onversation was so wide ranging so informative and enjoyable and – we learnt so much from them .about sicily and about life ;)..
their gift of time was precious to us – it felt like there was no pressur to hurry through our day especially the breakfast hours
louisa and marco made us feel looked after and yet granted us privacy enough to suit all three of us
they are a couple i would wish for as friends – the kind u look forward to living next door – thank you so much marco and louisa !!

the breakfast was huge – the table groaned literally ..croissants fresh baked cake by louisa and her home-made jams …eggs prepared on request -which was kind, given that eggs are not a staple of breakfast in sicily
nothing was too much …

louisa’s name is magic when it comes to retaurant booking – she and marco helped us with spot on advice in this regard and helped book tables for us
easy their dog was a bonus and
baby leia paid a visit sleeping through

it so charmed my travel companions and me
that we yearned to live in villa britannia for good !
bye and best of luck louisa and marco and leia ..see you in india one day soon

HOME AWAY FRO HOME – January 2017

Villa Britannia is down a winding, one way road on a hillside above the sea. Luisa and Marco were kind enough to meet us at their parking garage and take our luggage up the winding stairway to the entrance of this charming B&B. There was a Christmas tree in the entryway – a nice touch. To the right is a huge kitchen and dining table and to the left is a long bar (with plenty of libations from which to choose) and a cozy living room where we spent a lot of time relaxing as a family. We were given the run of the place, as no other guests were on site for a few nights. Our room, the DH Lawrence, was very spacious and had two small balconies from which to view a hillside garden or directly eastward into the sunrise and the Mediterranean. There is a queen size bed, a coffee table, a desk, a closet with plenty of drawers and hanger space, a small twin size bed converting it into a triple room, and a large bathroom (shower only) with a bidet. There is plenty of surface space to set your toiletries and large, fluffy towels. The entire B & B was very clean. For breakfast, we always had a full layout of fruits, cereals, meat and cheese, yogurts, and eggs cooked to order. The hosts speak English and Italian (and perhaps other languages as well), and they really went our of their way to make us feel at home. We stayed for four nights and it was hard to leave…much appreciated!

Perfect boutique B&B

We had a wonderful time at Villa Britannia when we stayed last month. Louisa and Marco took great care of us and made us feel very at home. The villa itself is gorgeous, huge rooms and lovely décor. Breakfast on the terrace each morning was the perfect start to the day and they couldn’t have been more helpful with local recommendations etc.

louisa and marco have achieved perfection -November 2016

We have stayed for 7 nights (originally 5, but we extended it because it was just too perfect) and we couldn’t be more stoked.

If you are looking for accommodation in Taormina, forget everywhere else, stay in Villa Britannia and enjoy sea views from your balcony, delicious breakfast on the terrace, huge classy rooms and possibly the best service in the whole of Sicily. Massive thank you to Louisa and Marco and Izzy the dog for an amazing stay. We really hope to see you again.

Oh, and here goes the usual: beds are the best, lounge is rather spectacular and showers are better than what you have at home. Marco and Louisa were super helpful, helped us with public transport (yes, we were travelling without a car) and were generally the nicest people ever. Their Villa is so beautiful it will make you weep and the views will have you searching rightmove for Sicilian properties and drafting your resignation notice.

Perfect place to stay – November 2016

We stayed as a family if 2 sisters and our mum. From the very beginning we were made to feel at home. The hosts Louisa and Marco are marvellous nothing is too much trouble. The advice about where to eat places to go were invaluable.
Breakfast on the terrace was perfect. The rooms are huge and comfortable.
Just a few minutes walk to the town centre
Recommended to all
Thank you for a wonderful 4 nights Louisa and Marco oh and of course Issy the dog!

Wonderful, gracious hosts!

Gidday -september –
What a perfect way to start a three week sojourn in Sicily. The villa is just lovely and the warm welcome after a long stressful flight (delayed) we arrive very very late to be greeted by Marco who without fuss settled us in for the start of a beautiful four day stay. This villa was one of the highlights of our trip and the recommendations for food, vineyard tour, beaches and Teatro events were spot on. The vineyard trip with private driver ended up being one of our highlights and the best meal we had in Sicily! Our room was spacious, light, cool (June) and the two little balconies meant we always had a spot in the shade to take tea, or wine and just breathe. There are a few different areas within the grounds to take some sun or shade as you like with the breakfast terrace (my favorite) really setting the mood of the stay. Otherwise the sitting room beside it would be nice if the weather cool or inclement. The kitchen where they have the cooking classes allowed us to make tea when we needed to and a big fridge if you want to keep anything really cold…otherwise a little bar fridge is in the room. It is a ten minute walk into the heart of Taormina which suited us well (meant we could eat a little more) and closer are other stores to get supplies.If we are ever lucky enough to get back to Taormina I would definitely stay here again. Or if I moved to Sicily I would want a villa just like this one…perfect. Thank you Luisa and Marco for making us feel so welcome, it was truly delightful! And we wish you all the best for the future, you deserve it.
With only two rooms to choose you need to book as soon as you can.
Show less
Room Tip: Both rooms great. One large with two little balconies. One smaller but with large sun terrace and…

“Louisa and Marco have achieved perfection.”

Louisa and Marco made us feel right at home during our weeklong stay at Villa Britannia. We loved everything about the place from the wonderful decor, the light and spacious rooms, to the relaxing breakfasts on the terrace. The views were stunning and it was only a short walk into town.

Louisa’s tips for restaurants and activities were all spot on, making our stay even more enjoyable. Also, check out the fun and informative Sicilian cooking classes they run at the villa.

Louisa and Marco’s attention to detail shows how much they want their guests to have a lovely stay. We’ll definitely stay here the next time we visit Taormina.

“Louisa and Marco have achieved perfection.”

Christopher – uk October –

We have stayed for 7 nights (originally 5, but we extended it because it was just too perfect) and we couldn’t be more stoked.

If you are looking for accommodation in Taormina, forget everywhere else, stay in Villa Britannia and enjoy sea views from your balcony, delicious breakfast on the terrace, huge classy rooms and possibly the best service in the whole of Sicily. Massive thank you to Louisa and Marco and Izzy the dog for an amazing stay. We really hope to see you again.

Oh, and here goes the usual: beds are the best, lounge is rather spectacular and showers are better than what you have at home. Marco and Louisa were super helpful, helped us with public transport (yes, we were travelling without a car) and were generally the nicest people ever. Their Villa is so beautiful it will make you weep and the views will have you searching rightmove for Sicilian properties and drafting your resignation notice.

Grazie Mille.

“Perfect place to stay”

swan uk – November 2016

We stayed as a family if 2 sisters and our mum. From the very beginning we were made to feel at home. The hosts Louisa and Marco are marvellous nothing is too much trouble. The advice about where to eat places to go were invaluable.
Breakfast on the terrace was perfect. The rooms are huge and comfortable.
Just a few minutes walk to the town centre
Recommended to all
Thank you for a wonderful 4 nights Louisa and Marco oh and of course Issy the dog!

“Take a cooking class here ”

Virginia – Texas October

Wonderful young couple who runs this. The class was very well organized. We had a large tour group with 22 people but they managed to let us do all sorts of stuff. And the meal we ate on the patio after we made it was great. They even arranged a trio of musicians to sing during lunch. Great fun. I would think about staying here if we went back on our own one day. They seem to have great organisational skills. Easy walk to downtown Taormina.

“Great place Great People ”

Brian- Australia October 2016  
We (two couples) stayed at Villa Britannia early September. Immediately we were made to feel right at home by Louisa and her ever so cute pup Easy. She explained as we booked both rooms we had the run of the place & feel free to eat & drink whatever was there & we would sort it out at the end, which we did. We met Marco later that day. The four of us have traveled quite extensively and I can honestly say we have never felt more comfortable in a place as we have here. Both Marco & Louisa went out of their way to assist us in every way possible. By example some later accommodation in our trip was cancelled for some spurious reason and Marco hit the phones with us ultimately solving the issue & negating some language barriers. Also we managed to acquire a parking fine on the last day which they were happy for us to give them the money and they went to pay it the following day. We also had a cooking class which was a blast. Marco is still wondering how he ended up in the kitchen after trying to avoid it all his life! It was fun, informative & delicious and we can’t wait to try the recipes and tips from the day. The rooms are large & breezy with stunning sea views as is the breakfast/dinner terrace.
We will definitely get back there one day and we hope we see Louisa & Marco come to Australia in the not too distant future.

“Wonderful, gracious hosts!”

Giddy Australia – October  

What a perfect way to start a three week sojourn in Sicily. The villa is just lovely and the warm welcome after a long stressful flight (delayed) we arrive very very late to be greeted by Marco who without fuss settled us in for the start of a beautiful four day stay. This villa was one of the highlights of our trip and the recommendations for food, vineyard tour, beaches and Teatro events were spot on. The vineyard trip with private driver ended up being one of our highlights and the best meal we had in Sicily! Our room was spacious, light, cool (June) and the two little balconies meant we always had a spot in the shade to take tea, or wine and just breathe. There are a few different areas within the grounds to take some sun or shade as you like with the breakfast terrace (my favorite) really setting the mood of the stay. Otherwise the sitting room beside it would be nice if the weather cool or inclement. The kitchen where they have the cooking classes allowed us to make tea when we needed to and a big fridge if you want to keep anything really cold…otherwise a little bar fridge is in the room. It is a ten minute walk into the heart of Taormina which suited us well (meant we could eat a little more) and closer are other stores to get supplies.If we are ever lucky enough to get back to Taormina I would definitely stay here again. Or if I moved to Sicily I would want a villa just like this one…perfect. Thank you Luisa and Marco for making us feel so welcome, it was truly delightful! And we wish you all the best for the future, you deserve it.
With only two rooms to choose you need to book as soon as you can.

“A wonderful place to fall in love with Sicily”

Arita -Lithania August  
We’ve just got back home from Sicily, still reminiscing on a wonderful 4 nights spent at Villa Britannia. Louise, Marco and Easy made us feel at home- with benefits. Beautiful house with an authentic atmosphere, great breakfasts, helpful advice for things to do in and around Taormina.
For foodies, I highly recommend taking up a cooking class- a fun and insightful experience. In fact, I just made my first Sicilan tomato sauce tonight back home in Riga, and it turned out really well:).
With appreciation and love, Arita and Paul.

“Il dolce far niente!”

Romania – July 2016 
Amazin place to stay for bad and breakfast in Taormina, Sicily. Louisa and Marco are the best hosts in the world. All the time are ready to help you and recommand you the best place to go, restaurants, trattoria, osteria, beaches, nice places for visit. Breakfast are amazing, rooms are big, clean and nice, great view. Few minutes walking until the city center. La dolce vita!

“Beautiful unique Villa”

Uk- July 2016 

We have just returned from a weeks stay where we had the entire use of Villa Brittania. The villa is beautiful and has been furnished with great taste. Both bedrooms are spacious with large comfortable beds and great showers in lovely bathrooms. Each bedroom has either balconies or a large terrace area from which to enjoy the view. The kitchen is well equipped with everything you would need to cook away from home ( we did not take up the B&B option) The Hugh terrace area is stunning and we spent most of our time there enjoying our meals and the view. There are also other areas in which to sunbathe or be in the shade to read. The lounge is cool and comfortable and has a calm relaxed feel. In fact the whole villa is just a wonderful place to spend time in. Great thought has been given to make this feel like a home from home experience with lovely little touches everywhere. Louisa and Marco are fantastic hosts very friendly and helpful and nothing seems too much trouble. We did not see them everyday due to our exclusive use of the villa but where on hand whenever we needed them to give suggestions for restaurants and other helpful advice. I can’t really add anything new to what has already been written by previous guests except to say that if you are considering staying here do not hesitate you will not regret it. It is a chance to stay in a unique villa in a stunning setting. We would definitely return and shall be recommending it to all our friends.

“Delightful villa, perfect hosts”

Andrew Australia – June 2016 
We could hardly believe our luck in deciding on this place. A lovely villa, spacious bedrooms with balconies, breakfast served on a shady terrace. The hosts live next door so the four of us had the place to ourselves.
The location is perfect, 10 minute walk to the town centre with shops and and big choice of restaurants. For beach access there is a cable car station within easy walk.
What really made our stay memorable is the hosts – Louisa and Marco. Extremely friendly and yet professional, always ready to suggest places to see or restaurants to visit. We were sorry to leave and already think of an excuse to visit the place again.
Andrew Orszulok

“More than a B&B”

Roy Prasser- Holland – June 2016 
Quietly situated just outside the center of Taormina, it is great to stay at Villa Britannia.
With two large beautiful bedrooms, which offer enough privacy, a lovely terrace where breakfast is served and the entire decoration of the Villa you get the feeling that you are at home. This is also because of the wonderful hosts Louisa and Marco.
With useful advice and help with dinner reservations or excursions (Mount Etna) they complete the stay at Villa Britannia.

Do the cooking workshop at Villa Britannia, it is easy going, you learn about the authentic Sicilian cuisine, helps to prepare and get a delicious 4 course lunch with wine.
(https://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Attraction_Review-g187892-d3228206-Reviews-Villa_Britannia_Cooking_Classes-Taormina_Province_of_Messina_Sicily.html)

“Fabulous stay in Taormina”

Rosalie Australia – May 2016 
We stayed 2 nights in Villa Britannia and wished we had been able to stay longer. Louisa and Marco made us feel so welcome, like part of the family and we were lucky to be travelling with friends so had the entire place to ourselves. The B & B is only a short walk from the main shopping centre which allowed us to be able to easily venture to do shopping (souvenirs, clothes & shoes) but also try out the amazing restaurants also. The breakfast on the terrace was so enjoyable and there was certainly plenty of variety of foods to suit everyone. The décor is so authentic and everything was very clean. We would definitely go back again ourselves just to experience the accommodation (Louisa and Marco are wonderful hosts). We felt so happy there. Go and enjoy!

“Beautiful B&B with delightful hosts – highly recommended!”

Susan Australia – May 2016 

We had amazing 4 night stay at Villa Britannia and were very well looked after by the warm and lovely hosts, Louisa & Marco. Villa Britannia is beautifully decorated with art, flowers, and lots of thoughtful touches. It only has 2 rooms so get in early! Our room (the DH Lawrence suite) was HUGE, with 2 small balconies (one overlooking the garden and the other with glimpses of the sea), and a large bathroom. It felt like home – only much more stylish and spacious. There is a large communal lounge filled with books, art, and things to drink (pay as you go on an honesty system) and a big terrace where we ate breakfast each morning overlooking the town and sea. The villa itself has a sprawling, lush garden with fruit trees and a relaxed, retreat-like feel.

The B&B is located a picturesque (but hilly) 10 min walk from town, and was about a 15 min walk from some restaurants. We really enjoyed being a little bit away from it all, as the main strip can feel quite crowded and touristy, particularly when tour-groups are around.

Breakfast included homemade jams, fresh juice, coffee, homemade cakes and sweets, and the usual yoghurt / muesli / cured meat spread. Having breakfast on the terrace was just stunning.

On our last night Louisa & Marco held an aperitivo evening and Louisa cooked up a storm. They are lovely company and were very caring and helpful hosts. They live nearby and Louisa was always only a text message away if we needed a restaurant booking or recommendation. They are really passionate about Taormina, Sicily and what they do and make perfect hosts.

“Gorgeous retreat & lovely hosts”

Riff Germany – May 2016 
The Villa Britannia is a wonderful place to stay in Taormina, soothing and comforting when looking for a quiet retreat but also very energizing when you have the chance to participate in one of the cookery classes or private dinner events. I stayed for a week and would have liked to stay much longer! The hosts are just fabulous, the Villa itself beautifully furnished and the garden will make you rethink your plans for the day. Enjoying the seaview from the terrace or the garden I often forgot the time and just let the day slip away. Bring your pastels or your paintbox!
Some practical details: The kitchen is very well equipped as cooking classes are held there and there are three mini markets with fresh food and vegetables when you take the 10 minutes walk downtown. Not to forget the pasticcheria d’amore! Both apartments/bathrooms are spacious and have their own terraces/balconies, but the garden offers the shade when it gets too hot. I will be back defintely – Mille Grazie!

“Wonderful ”

Odecar Austria- April 2016 
We stayed at Villa Britannia for two nights (two adults, one 3-year-old child) and loved it! We enjoyed breakfast on the terrace and the quiet and calm surroundings. Louisa recommended fantastic places to eat and drink wine and her recommendations were extremely helpful and made our stay in Taormina so much fuller and more relaxed. Louisa and Marco were perfect hosts and we highly recommend their B&B!

“Splendid ”

Nico Belgium – April 2016 
We are a Belgian family of three (two adults and a 7 year old daughter) and we stayed thee nights in this amazing villa. The main reasons why you stay in this wonderful property are as follows: great hospitality from Louisa and Marco, they did everything they could and gave us a very good insight in the things to do and the places to eat. The room is great! Very big, airy and tastefully decorated, good beds and beautiful terraces. The rest of the house is a real gem and gave a special touch to our holiday feeling. The fact that you are 5 minutes away on foot from the city center was a big plus to us because the center can be really busy and noisy. We definitely recommand this place and we hope ourselves to return some day!

“A beautiful villa in a picturesque Taormina

Emily Portland – March 2016 
If you are visiting Taormina, you will absolutely love Villa Britannia. It is a small, quaint, and comfortable B&B with stunning views right outside your window. Louisa, our host, was extremely accommodating and helped us navigate the town while we discovered the best markets, restaurants, and gelatorias. Everything is in walking distance and I highly recommend the step walk up to Castelmola, right above Taormina where you can enjoy a breathtaking view of Mt Etna while feasting on local fare. We would definitely stay here again.

 

“Beautiful, well managed, lovely location. I hope to be back”

Paul and Kerry -Uk – August 2015
This is a lovely 2 bedroom villa (no pool) that is a short walk out from the shopping area in Taormina. It’s family run and it really lovely. Louisa provides a fantastic service having left recommendations and information on the area for you to read through.
Any problems during the stay are quickly dealt with along with any specific local information required. Taxi’s can be arranged for you as can restaurant bookings. A personal service that can’t be beaten in my view.
The kitchen area is great for self-catering with a large fridge, gas range and oven. They do cooking lessons when there aren’t guests staying so there’s plenty of pots, utensils etc to work with. The garden of the villa has lots in it that can be made use of. Tomatoes, chilli, basil, lemons etc. This helps make cooking a fun group activity.
Food can be picked up at a small mini-market, the daily morning market (highly recommended) or there is a supermarket at the far end of the high street (right to the end and turn right, it’s just up the hill a little).
As there were 5 of us an extra bed was put in the twin room. Both bedrooms have an ensuite with showers which were lovely with plenty of water coming through. The living space was large and well presented. There are books and art all over so you can just relax and enjoy the surroundings. There is a music system behind the bar so you can put on CDs or connect to a phone, MP3 player, laptop etc.
Air conditioning is only in the bedrooms but the layout of the villa means that whilst remaining warm downstairs you can open up and let the breeze blow through. This makes it really pleasant inside.
We stayed in August and there were a lot of gnats about looking for a nibble so bring repellent with you. The Villa has a lovely view of Taormina and the sea, especially from the master bedroom terrace upstairs.
The amount of living space is sufficient for larger groups for entertaining but there are only 2 bedrooms. Note that there are steps up to the villa door that make this unsuitable for wheelchair access.
Walking distance to the shopping area is around 400m and it’s a 200m additional walk to the cable cars and main bus terminus. There are small hop-on/off buses that operate further into town.
We arrived by train and got a taxi up to the villa. There is also a bus option but that does drop you off about 10mins walk from the villa so with bags it may be better to use a Taxi. As there were 5 of us we had a large 7 seater pick us up and it cost €30. If you want a Taxi to Catania it’s €90 but the train or bus (my preference) is only a little over €5 a ticket. You can get the bus to the airport from Taormina.

“ Live like a true Taorminese in Sicily ”

Amy and Paul , Toronto 29 July 2015
Taormina is indeed the “island in the sky” and the Villa Britannia is a superb way to experience all that this beautiful Sicilian town has to offer. The house is simply beautiful,with several terraces and views of the Ionian Sea. The bedrooms are spacious and comfortable.The kitchen is very well appointed and participation in one of Carmelo’s cooking classes is a wonderful way to experience the culture and food of Sicily. Louisa exudes charm and was extremely knowledgable and helpful. The various restaurants and attractions which are recommended in the house guide were all terrific.She went out of her way to ensure that we experienced the best of what Taormina and the province of Messina has to offer. Grazie mille Louisa for a truly memorable holiday.

“ 7 days of paradise ”

From booking.com
Liane uk July 2015
Villa Britannia is in a quiet residential location, but only a short walk to the main action. It’s really spacious, with traditional Sicilian and modern touches that make it warm and welcoming but classy enough that you feel special. Louisa is the best concierge in the business, and who she doesn’t know isn’t worth knowing anyway, which is just as well as Taormina has a wealth of good restaurants, plenty of shopping and incredible history so you will never find yourself at a loose end. The beach clubs are a must – La Pigna was our favourite, and Louisa even arranges for a free pick up and drop off.
We will be back

“ Ill be Back ”

from booking.com
Natalie July 2015
The villa is fabulous – even better than the photos suggest. It is just a short walk (approx 6 mins) to the centre of Taormina, but quiet and relaxing. Louisa was incredibly helpful – always on hand to provide information or assistance. I make it a rule to never travel to the same place twice, but I’ll be back.

“ Sicilian home away from home ”

from booking.com
Delara Germany June 2015
The villa was exactly what we needed for our family trip. I would have stayed for another month if I could! The villa is beautiful and really felt like home. Louisa and her father are so wonderful and helpful. They gave fantastic restaurant recommendations and took care of everything from transfers to tours. Thanks for everything!

“ Perfectly positioned ”

Peter T – Usa – 18 June 2015
Taormina is beautifully situated, and there’s a lot to enjoy, but it’s also easy to see why D.H. Lawrence said he wished 6,000,000 tons of lava would bury Umberto Corso. There are a lot of tourists, a lot of shops. Villa Britannia is not only beautiful, but it’s situated just far enough from the crowds to be peaceful, yet still just a short walk from the heart of the action, such as it is. Louisa is a wonderful host, Carmelo gives a delightful cooking class…everyone in our group would have happily stayed longer.

“ Live and Feel Sicilian ”

John and family June 2015
Great accommodation in a great location, slightly off the ‘beaten track’ but with all restaurants and shops within a 10 to 20 minute walk. Louisa, the owner, is so helpful with nothing being too much trouble- Louisa is also so ‘well connected’ and really knowledgeable about what to do. Be sure to invite Nino, her dad, for an evening aperitif and listen to stories of ‘Old Sicily’ whilst he smokes his cigar! The lunch time cookery course is ‘a must’! Worldly travelled and wise chef Carmello (‘The Boss’) will entertain you and introduce you to the delights of Sicilian food and with wine starting to flow at 11am what can possibly go wrong?!!!!!!!! So if you’re going to Sicily and staying in Taormina and want to ‘live the culture’ then Villa Britannia is the only choice!

“A fantastic stay in Taormina ”

Karen Usa 28 May 2015
My husband and myself along with another couple, loved every second of our stay at the Villa Britannia. It’s a beautiful place with terraces and balcony’s, gardens, and lots of great interior space. Louisa greeted us upon our arrival and continued to be a great host throughout our stay. Her suggestions on restaurants were spot on. The Villa’s location was perfect – we walked back and forth to town 2 to 3 times a day/night and enjoyed the fact that we didn’t have to take our car out of it’s parking space unless we were leaving Taormina for a day trip. The large terrace was a real treat/ a great place to hang out with a book and our morning coffee. The beds were extremely comfortable. I really can’t say enough good things about Villa Britannia. Stay here if you can – you won’t want to leave!

“ Great spot for chilling out ”

Uk March 2015
Very comfortable and private house. Large bedrooms both ensuite. Great views of the sea. Top kitchen and lots of outdoor areas. Short walk to the old town

“A Mr Villa ”

Keith and Wife Uk March 2015
A very comfortable private house with great views. The rooms are large and well decorated. There are plenty of outdoor areas to relax in the sun and down a few coldies. The kitchen is superb, fully equipped to knock up a feast or two. The old town centre is only a short stroll away. Louisa, like the house, is a gem , helpful and informative.

“A Real Treat”

Jenny & Co Uk February 2015

This property is absolutely beautiful, spacious, fully equipped, you feel thoroughly relaxed. The owner, Luisa, is so very helpful, she made us feel at home straight away. This property has the added bonus of a garden with herbs and a lemon tree.
You are perfectly placed to enjoy Taormina, you don’t really need to hire a car unless you plan to go further afield. The local market is within walking distance along with shops and everyone is very welcoming.

“The down side, That we had to leave at the end of our stay! ( but we’ll come back one day ) ”

James and family from Australia January 2015

Loved the Villa and it’s views across the mountains,village and sea! Loved the large generous proportioned rooms filled with photos and artwork!Loved the passion of the hosts!Loved the garden!

“Lo mejor de nuestro viaje a Sicilia”

Almudena Spain November 2014

Esta villa lo tiene todo, es de película y la propietaria Louisa es un encanto, nos ayudo muchísimo en los preparativos de nuestro viaje y te hace sentir como en tu propia casa.

“Perfect Place To Stay”

Fiona 23 October 2014

Stayed for week in October, Villa was perfect with sea views and only a short walk to centre of town or to cable car to beach. Garage to park the car was ideal as parking is otherwise impossible. Louisa was an excellent hostess and gave us lots of tips on where to go and where to eat – and even booked them for us ! Highly recommended

“5 Beautiful Nights ”

Jill Uk September 2014

We were lucky enough to spend five beautiful nights at villa Britannia Taormina. The villa is beautifully and tastefully decorated. Even though the villa is only two bedrooms it felt very spacious and extremely comfortable and clean. Luisa can and did organise everything for you including minibus down to the beach restaurant reservations ideas for trips etc. We really loved Taormina and enjoyed the laid-back style of the evenings and beautiful food. Just be aware of the walk into town especially in August when it’s extremely hot it will only take about 10 minutes but because of humidity you can arrive
looking far from your best!! Overall though we had a wonderful stay and would highly recommend Villa Britannia.

” A Sicilian Extended Family and the best Concierge in Town ”

Julie Manchester July 2014

With Villa Britannia you don’t just get a villa you get a Sicilian extended family. First there is Louisa (the owner) who is there 24/7 making recommendations and reservations for the best places in town, often paces which would not be found by tourists. On arrival she had prepared a beautiful lunch of cold meats, cheeses, salads, olives and bread and had put beer, wine and soft drinks in the fridge, this was the perfect start to our holiday. There is Niño (Louisa’s father) who we met for lunch one day and who has us in fits of laughter with tales of his escapades, he also visited the villa regularly to tend the garden and stock the fridge with home made limoncello – delicious! Then there is Carmelo the chef from across the road who came to the villa one day to teach us how to prepare a delicious typically Sicilian meal, which we then enjoyed eating on the terrace outside washed down with beautiful organic Sicilian wine (again all organized by Louisa).
The villa itself is beautiful, the rooms are light and spacious which gives a feeling of luxury, there is tasteful antique furniture in every room, we especially loved the traditional Sicilian bar in the lounge area which is a family heirloom and stocked with Campari, Aperhol etc to allow you to make fantastic sundowners to enjoy on one of the many terraces!
We loved our stay here, from the moment we walked in it was a home from home, it shall always have a special place in our hearts and we hope to return one day very soon.

” You will want to throw a Party ”

Ross June 2014

We wanted to pack this place up and take it home. You can just imagine what went on here in the glory days, especially with writers staying next door. The view is fantastic, the patios astoundingly large, and the garden gorgeous. We would live here! The two bedrooms are huge, with nice bathrooms, closets and balconies. The walk to town is easy, and there was parking available for our cars. If you want to cook in, the kitchen is up to the task; they even have cooking classes here when no one is staying in the villa. Louisa, the owner, speaks English and Italian and was wonderfully helpful. She lives nearby, just in case a need arises. And her dad stopped by to tend the garden. He was here when Truman Capote lived next door. We asked him, “Was he a nice guy?” He said, “I don’t know. I was just 13!” Fun, fun place.

” Perfect place to stay to explore Taormina and its environment ”

Andrew London May 2014

This is a comfortable, conveniently situated villa in a residential area but only 10 minutes walk from the centre of Taormina. Great views; two sun terraces and well equipped with interesting furniture and paintings. Two en-suite bedrooms. Lots of living space. Louisa the owner is extremely helpful.
We also spent time with Nino (her father) who is full of local knowledge, including childhood memories of Truman Capote who stayed here. He makes a fine Limoncello, an orange marmalade and a great red wine, which he gave us. Nino has converted the first floor of his house – across the street – into an apartment with comfortable accommodation for two, and equally fine views.
There is a parking garage – useful as were exploring Sicily by car.

” Villa Britannia is “the” place to stay in Taormina ”

Washington Dc

My girlfriend and I stayed at Villa Britannia for a week in July. It was just magical and located in the perfect little neighborhood. The house is large with two beautiful master suites on the second floor, a huge outdoor terrace and a fully equipped professional kitchen. The owner holds cooking classes in the Villa when no one is staying there and she arranged to bring two couples in while we were there for a cooking class. The class with Chef Carmello was awesome as we all prepared the meal and then had a lovely lunch on the terrace – one of the best meals we had in Taormina. Her father Nino has a lovely garden outside the kitchen where we picked tomatoes and basil. The owner, Louisa, is awesome and takes wonderful care of her guests. Our luggage didn’t arrive and Louisa took responsibility for finding our bags at the airport and having them delivered – a mystery to us! She provided wonderful recommendations for restaurants – two of which (and two of the best) were right in the neighborhood. Luisa also made arrangements for a day at the La Caravella Beach Club which was a great experience and our lunch there was one of the best we had during our visit.
Villa Britannia is just the perfect place to enjoy Taormina – a short walk to everything and you feel like you’re living la dolce vita. It was so difficult to leave and when we return, we wouldn’t think of staying anywhere else. Thanks you Luisa!!

” Beautiful Villa ”

Carol Ireland April 2014

This Villa is really beautiful, spacious and in an ideal location. The terrace, garden and amazing views make this place exceptional. Louisa is such a lovely person who made our stay marvelous and was extremely helpful with her fantastic suggestions for restaurants and tours. I look forward to returning some day.

” louisa is the Best ”

Renata Brazil April 2014
louisa, who is the owner of the Villa Britannia, is really the best host. She does more than enough for you feeling happy and at home. Your father is also nice. She is very kind and professional and know how to give you all the privacy. All restaurants and places she recommended are great. She lives in another house close to Villa Britannia. The house is beautiful and has a great view of the ocean. It is a short walk from the city center.

” The perfect Place ”


Anna Canada August 2013

Our host Louisa greeted us at the little church in Taormina. We followed her in her vespa and had the garage waiting for us to park in. From the moment we opened the gate to the Villa, we knew we had come to the perfect place! Louisa was so welcoming and warm. The Villa was enchanting! She gave us a tour of the Villa and then to our room which was beautiful in every way…we were so overwhelmed! Our host suggested a great place for dinner and the off to the Opera at the Teatro Greco. Breakfast was over the top…fresh homemade cakes were incredible. We decided to stay for lunch at the Villa, where chef Carmelo made the most amazing lunch! I would highly recommend Villa Britannia to anyone travelling to Taormina…fabulous experience and unforgettable!! Thank you Louisa!!

” Breathtakingly beautiful “


Alison Melbourne Australia July 2013

I don’t think my husband and I have ever felt quite as relaxed as we did during our stay at Villa Britannia. The house is surrounded by established gardens and boasts lovely views. A few minutes walk from the main street, it is extremely quiet and makes the perfect getaway.

The common living area, bedroom and bathroom were all very spacious, clean and well appointed. The terrace was the most relaxing place to spend the morning mulling over the delicious breakfast while catching up on the news or some reading.

Luisa was a fantastic host who made us feel completely at home. She provided us with much useful information about the area, where to go and what to do. It was great getting to know her over the few days we were there.

We cannot wait to return here for a longer period of time and would not hesitate one bit in recommending Villa Britannia to our friends and family.

“Amazing , Amazing , Amazing ”


Lisa – Australia June 2013

We stayed at Villa Britannia for one week where we got married in Taormina. From the moment we landed Louisa was on hand to ensure everything was comfortable for us, her friendliness, knowledge and recommendations really made her and Villa Britannia stand out as a top pick for accommodation in Taormina.

The Villa itself is stunning, well kept and so very homely. There was fresh fruit daily, breakfast, cakes and wine wine and more wine.

I would have to say a big part of loving Sicily had a lot to do with Louisa and the Villa, everything else fell into place  Highly recommend and we would most definitely return.

“Fantastic location in Taormina”


Vivi Bucharest June 2013

For our first trip to Taormina, after spending one week in San Vito lo Capo. I choose villa Britannia after a lot of research, reading all the reviews about it and I am happy for my choice.Thanks to all reviewers who described sincerrely everything about this beautiful property. I don’t want to repeat what was already said, only to mention that we will come back for sure.We stayed only 4 nights and we decided that comming back for a week at least is a must.Louisa is a perfect host, managing everything and finding immediate solutions for all guests needs. We liked a lot the wonderful limoncello Nino made, the best we tried.The villa is really beautiful, and the garden is amazing, this is the best location we ever found in Italy.We just loved it and we felt in love with Taormina. Thank you, dear Louisa, and we hope to see you soon!

“An Unforgettable holiday with Villa Britannia & Louisa “

 

Nir – Israel 7 May 2013

For those of you who wishes to do something different & experience the real Taormina life I would highly recommend staying at Villa Britannia. Located In the heart of a quiet & delightful neighborhood that overlooks the stunning sea & town views, you’ll find it to be an unbelievable beautiful & aesthetic getaway from the tourist mania of mid town. With only 5 minutes walk (which we found refreshing after a big meal) from the main street & everything else, it’s a great alternative (price wise too).

The Villa is fully quipped, the kitchen holds a must take cooking classes with a local chef, Carmelo, who is quite a caricature, the food is a dream (southern Italy in it’s very best – need to book ahead – do not miss this), you can chill in the living room & terrace to the sounds of jazz music with a nice glass of wine, and wake up to a marvelous sun rise in your bed room. Every corner of the Villa is well thought of & designed in fine taste.

Having said all that, for us this great trip was all about Louisa, the owner & manager of Villa Britannia Taormina . She absolutely made our vacation a whole lot better helping us with everything, places to go, things to do, stuff to buy, restaurants booking & recommendations. She speaks both fluent English & Italian (not easy to find in Italy) that we found so so helpful, that was a huge plus & I just want to thank god & our wife’s 🙂 for finding her. Basically everything Louise recommended was awesome.

“Louisa is an excellent host

Lottie -Uk April 2013

I stayed in Villa Britannia  Taormina for a few days with friends. We had a great time! Louisa was an excellent host, she is very knowledgable about the local area and was therefore able to recommend great restaurants and places to visit.

The villa itself is extremely spacious with a great terrace, such a relaxing place to sit in the mornings to eat breakfast. Everything you need to make your stay comfortable has been thought of and the villa has been decorated with interesting art work and furniture.

I would recommend this place to anyone and hope to go back soon.

” Villa Britannia is the nicest place to stay in Taormina….. ”

Timothy -California 2012 

The Villa Britannia is the nicest place to stay in Taormina, period….for two couples, two couples with small children, or one large family. We were two couples whose expectations were far surpassed.
The villa is conveniently located, a comfortable walk to the local market, the daily open air fruit and vegetable market, and downtown Taormina. Every room in this two bedroom villa (each with attached private bath) is spacious, very comfortable, and artfully decorated. We love to cook, so the professional kitchen and large dining area inspired a dinner party. There are many balconies with views of the sea. We awoke to beautiful sunrises every morning of our 14 day stay. The gardens surrounding the villa are lovely, and there even is an ancient Roman tomb on the property.
But the best attribute of Villa Britannia is the warm hostess, Luisa, and her charming father, Nino. Luisa’s attentiveness and concern for our comfort, and Nino’s knowledge of Sicily and his recommendations are what truly made our stay memorable.

“Complete perfect from start to finish ….”

By Emma Jane United Kingdom 2012 
An incredible Villa in a prrfect location, stunning sea views. The attention to detail in the decor is just perfection, creating style and warm ambiance. Louisa was a welcoming and brilliant host, ensuring everything we needed was provided. We stayed on a B&B basis with beautiful homemade jams and cakes provided on the sun terrace daily. Could not have asked for more. A perfect holiday and already planning my return

Hevean on Earth….

Connelley Australia 2012 

“Heaven on earth!”Villa Britannia is definitely a little piece of heaven on earth. It felt like home from the moment we walked through the door. The villa is beautifully decorated and extemeiy comfortable with views over the sea and the historic town. We had a private terrace off our bedroom with a sun umbrella and sun lounges.
Villa Britannia is in a perfect location, set in an amazing garden. Nino spoiled us with tomatoes and basil from the garden! We spent a blissful, peaceful week there and were enchanted by both Taormina and the villa.
Luisa is a lovely host (English speaking) with great suggestions for restaurants, beaches, sightseeing etc. She also organised a driver to take us to the airport in an air conditioned car. Patrizia spoiled us with amazing breakfast treats each morning and couldn’t do enough to please. We dearly hope to return one day! Thank you all for a memorable holiday.

Aperitf @7 what a civilsed life

David Marr -Journalist Australia 2012 

A little boutique hotel where everything works flawlessly. The Villa is relaxed, the Vittorios’ perfect English (of course) a respite, the rooms beautiful and in chaotic Taormina there’s parking! Absolutely plugged into the town, they sent us to the best food we had in Sicily.
The first sign we were in for the personal touch was immediate – “Hi, I’m Luisa”. As friendly as Sicily had been, never a name until then. And so it continued from there.
A deft balance between being welcomed into someone’s stylish (though never uptight) home but being left the space and with every comfort considered to feel like you’re in your own. And from a different point in the spectrum, my aging parents – on a rare and probably last visit to their homeland and not used to being both treated and relaxed at the same time – felt just the same.

The perfect beginning to a wonderful holiday

Cape town 2012 
Villa Britannia was recommended to us by a Sicilian friend. Luisa, the owner, and her father could not have been better hosts. The Guesthouse is about 5 min walk from the center, and this will give you a peaceful sleep. Although we arrived early evening, Luisa awaited and welcomed us with a chilled bottle of Sicilian white wine and olives and her big, warm, friendly smile. Sitting on the terrace, overlooking Taormina and feeling the warm gentle summers wind was the perfect start to a wonderful holiday in Sicily. The breakfast (coffee, fresh fruit, croissants, toasts, jam and juice) every morning lovingly laid out by Luisa, was the perfect start for a busy day.
The rooms are spacious, nicely decorated (a mix of old and new) and with a terrace and a wonderful view.Definitely a place to come back to.

Picture don’t do it justice

United Kingdom 2012 
This truly is a gorgeously stylish property. Masses of living space, lovely cool bedrooms, very well equipped and maintained. A very manageable walk to the Corso and cable car, even in August heat with small (complaining!) children. Luisa couldn’t have been more helpful. Would LOVE to return and cannot recommend this place highly enough[/one_third_last]

“Home from home ”

Mark London 2012 
Having just returned from a fabulous holiday in Taormina, I have to shout from the rooftops about Villa Britannia.
We stayed as part of the guest house, although you can book the whole villa as a private residence which would be bliss for a family or larger group.
Firstly, the booking process was really straight forward; Luisa (Manager) was very prompt in her correspondence and answered all of our questions including the rather inane ones!
She had organised my transfer from Catania at a very competitive price which took the pressure off arriving and negotiating a taxi.
Once at the villa I was met by Luisa herself who was waiting for me with a delightful chilled glass of Sicilian wine and a really warm welcome.
The location is perfect; any further would make returning from the beach or town a chore and any closer you wouldn’t get a wink of sleep!
The suite we were accommodated in had 2 beautiful balconies (1 garden view & 1 sea view), a large bathroom en suite and a day bed.
I did manage to see the other suite which was equally attractive and had the plus of a large terrace.
The residence defines true elegance, furnishings and art work adorn the villa and have been carefully chosen to reflect the overall style.
Cleanliness was nothing short of pristine, all areas were constantly maintained to immaculate standards (Patrizia..the lady responsible,you are a marvel)
Fresh crisp linen sheets on beds and beautiful fluffy towels.
Breakfast was served on the terrace amidst the lush foliage where you can enjoy your morning coffee, local pastries and homemade preserves while enjoying the sea views.
If you get the chance grab (Nino) , having lived locally most of his life he has the lowdown on all going on, past and present.
We were made to feel so at home.
We were shown the utmost respect and privacy during our time there but Luisa,Nino and Patrizia made it more than a holiday, it was a true experience…

“Planning our return already”

Harri United kingdom 2012 
We booked Villa Britannia for one weeks exclusive rental (it is also available as a B&B). We (myself and my partner) had decided that we wanted to visit Taormina and looked at the various hotel options available. It soon became apparent that we could get a lot more bang for our buck if we booked a villa instead. Villa Britannia met all our criteria : short walking distance to town (6-7 minutes), close to cable car, air con, privacy, multiple terraces for sunbathing, modern bathrooms and sea views. I did a LOT of research and trust me, you will struggle to find any properties of the same calibre for the same price. The Villa owner, Luisa, was very helpful prior to our arrival – emailing me extra pictures, suggesting restaurants for us to visit and shopping for our groceries so they were already there on our arrival. When we arrived at the Villa, it was everything and more that we hoped it would be. The outside spaces are lovely – the photos on the listing do not do them justice. Plenty of areas / terraces to sunbathe or relax with a drink. Inside, both the reception rooms and the bedrooms are all a good size. Bathrooms are modern and pristine with good lighting. The kitchen is well equipped – large fridge, plenty of glasses etc. I have to admit, we ate out every meal so I cannot vouch for the oven! Good as the Villa is, it is Luisa who really makes the difference. She would text us each morning, checking that we had enjoyed the restaurant she had reserved for us the previous night, asking if we would like any shopping, booking taxis etc. Very helpful and very genuine. The whole experience was exemplary. So much so that we are already planning our return!

“Lovely holiday in Taormina”

Fairfax Minesota 2012 
Warm welcome from Nino and FrancescaComfortable villa with stylish decor (terrace would be lovely in warm weather)
Fireplace in the lounge, cleaned and refreshed daily by Nino
Fresh-picked oranges, plus kitchen provisions to get us started for the week
Help with taxi arrangements and driver for day trips
Lighted Christmas tree in lounge and Panettone (Italian Christmas cake) were festive touches.
Suggestions for local restaurants (were all excellent)

“A fantastic stay at Villa Britannia”

Christine Oslo 2012 

We arrived at Taormina and Villa Britannia late August this september. The Villa itself was beyond all our expectations; Beautiful location looking down at the ocean and the city of Taormina, in the middle of a nice garden – ideal for full relaxation. The rooms were stunningly decorated and included nice balconies, which gave an overview of the ocean and the city.
Every morning we were served with an excellent breakfast at the terrace, giving us the perfect start of the day.We had a fantastic vacation in Villa Britannia and would highly recommend it to others!
Thank you for an excellent stay![/two_third]

“Magical moments at Villa Britannia “

Paristexas Australia 2012 
After much research on accommodation in Taormina we chose Villa Britannia for our one week stay in Sicily. We arrived at night, Luisa had arranged a car to collect us from the airport, there she was, waiting with wine and olives and the biggest luscious smile ever. Luisa is Sicilian in every way but speaks perfect English also. The Villa at night was exquisite, the lighting, the gardens, the terrace adjacent to the large lounge and bar area, a mixture of sculptures, artworks, photography (some of it by Luisa herself) all lovingly arranged throughout the villa. The real surprise came when we awoke in our very large private room to the most amazing view of the sea right out front of our room. We then had the wonderful introduction to Nino (Luisa’s father) and divine proud Sicilian who once operated the tourist office in Taormina, so if you want to know anything about Taormina and the surrounding areas, ask Nino. We enjoyed a beautiful breakfast on the terrace each morning, aperitivo at night, wonderful restaurants only 5 minutes walk allowing you the opportunity to sleep well at night in the quiet cul du sac where the Villa is located. Sometimes a journey to another country is special for many reasons, ours was special due to the incredible hospitality of Luisa and Nino and the comfort and location of the beautiful villa. As for Taormina, it is difficult to describe its beauty, but each day as we headed back to the villafrom our day out to freshen up and change for aperitivo on the terraace it felt like coming home. You must also meet Sophia (the family pet) named after Sophie Loren as she has almond shaped eyes, divine!!!!

“Beautiful Villa and Gardens “

Paul London 2012 
We chose Villa Britannia as it ticked all the boxes for our week’s stay in Taormina with two young children. If anything, the experience surpassed our expectations. The Villa is beautifully designed with a nice blend of paintings and artifacts in all the rooms and provided the perfect refuge after a hot day on the beach. It’s close enough to the town centre for all the restaurants and bars, but with such an idyllic setting, we often just cooked at home and relaxed on the terrace.

Luisa and Nino were so helpful, whether designing a sightseeing trip to the villages around Etna or pointing out the best places to buy fresh food. Nothing was too much trouble and even though we arrived past midnight on a Sunday, Luisa was there to greet us and show us around the property.

Our two boys loved the gardens (almost as much as the cable car to the beach!) and the Villa was kept immaculately throughout our stay. There are stunning sea views from both bedrooms and we couldn’t conceive of a more relaxing and enjoyable base from which to explore Taormina and Sicily.

We would definitely recommend the Villa for a family holiday and we would hope to return ourselves in the near future.

“A real multi-sensual Sicilian experience”

Anatdz Haifa 2012 
The right place for a real vacation- a stunning villa, full of art objects- sculptures, photographs, paintings and characteristic furniture. The owner is very friendly and helped us to sew the perfect Sicilian experience- where to go, what to see, where to eat, and how to experience Sicily with all our senses.Imagine a wonderful Sicilian breakfast at the terrace, with stunning views of Taormina‘s beautiful bay, with Italian music playing silently at the background-Villa Britannia and it’s owner Luisa have all the ingredients for cooking a fantastic Sicilian vacation for everyone…

“Comfortable and Tranquil Experience at Villa Britannia”

Louis Ottawa Canada 2012 
We just returned from an enjoyable three-week vacation in Sicily and one of the highlights of the trip was our five-day stay at the lovely Villa Britannia that we rented as a guesthouse. The three of us were the only guests during our stay, so we had sole access to the garden, terrace and lounge areas.
We could not praise the Villa enough. From the moment we arrived, Luisa (the owner) was most helpful and obliging. Located in a residential area on a hilltop overlooking the town of Taormina, it is only a few minutes walk from the town’s centre. As a result, we were never far from all the amenities that Taormina has to offer, yet also able to easily retreat to the tranquility of the Villa. It was the ideal situation.
This luxury villa is beautifully decorated and spacious, furnished with high quality furniture and all the modern appliances. The beds were extremely comfortable and we enjoyed having access to the scenic views from the balconies off our bedrooms. During our stay, the villa was cleaned daily and always kept in a pristine state by the hard and diligent work of Patrizia, the friendly and generous housekeeper. A delicious breakfast was prepared and served every morning on the terrace surrounded by lush gardens and overlooking the beautiful Ionian Sea.
When we arrived by train at the Taormina-Giardini station, Luisa arranged to have a taxi pick us up. Upon our arrival at the villa, we were greeted by a warm welcome. Luisa was most gracious and accommodated our requests and was also extremely helpful in recommending the best places to eat in Taormina and sites to visit nearby.
This is definitely a Villa worth visiting again. Thank you Luisa for being the perfect host and letting us savior the beauty of Taormina and your lovely Villa.

” Wonderful Experience ”

Ben California 2012 

“We stayed at the Villa Britannia for 5 nights in late June 2012 and cannot give enough superlatives to describe our stay there in the Truman Capote room. We are from Santa Barbara, California. The villa is immaculate and feels like staying in a 5-star bed and breakfast. The hostess and owner, Luisa, was articulate, was the point of contact for so much in Taormina (felt like she knew everyone in town), gracious, friendly, easy to communicate with in fluent English and Italian, and extremely welcoming. Her villa is beautiful and just a short distance from the hustle of the town below. The views from various private and public terraces are spectacular as you feel you have a private getaway in the hillsides of gorgeous Taormina. The villa is decorated in an artistic and comfortable way with amenities more than you would expect. They make it feel like a home away from home while still being professional. Patrizia cooked incredible dishes for an amazing breakfast (the chocolate and wine cake was incredible) each morning and could not have been more friendly and accommodating (the cappuccinos each morning hit the spot). Luisa not only passed on some great recommendations for places to eat and sights to see but she also often made the call for reservations, including the beaches below. Each recommendation proved worthy of her praise. It felt like staying with family. We loved the artwork and even sought out one of the artists where we bought a few items for home. Also, our friends stayed there for part of the trip while others stayed farther up the road. She graciously allowed them to stop by on our various day trips and even offered something to eat and drink. The quality of the stay was one of the best we can recall (we love Europe vacations) and would definitely come back and stay there again. Luisa’s father, Nino, was a great source of Taormina’s history and told some great stories about the area and villa (including Truman Capote and the ice boy). He also maintains gorgeous, lush gardens around the property that make it more inviting. This also includes various fruit that we had in various food and breakfast concoctions. We highly recommend this villa for a wonderful, beautiful, and fully satisfying stay.

“Awesome apartment – home from home” l

Mark London 2012 
We had a wonderful week at Villa Britannia. The Villa was spacious and beautifully presented. It had a really homely feel with lots of nice personal touches, the view from the balconies were gorgeous and it was in a good location, easily walkable to the main part of Taormina, but on a quiet street. Luisa couldn’t have been more helpful, we had an issue with the central heating and she came over to sort it out immediately – better service than you would get in some hotels…she was also a fount of knowledge about the area. We would definitely return and recommend to others.

“A special place to stay with totally charming hosts”

Teresa Germany 2012 

louisa has created, with flair and imagination, a truly special place to stay in Taormina. Looking down to the sea and surrounded by lush gardens and terraces everything here was at our disposal, including much help and advice, and some great recommendations from Luisa and her lovely father Nino, all of which proved invaluable. Super breakfasts were available at whatever time we chose and each day brought a different, delicious “dolce” to accompany the lightest of croissants, fresh fruit and juices, yoghurts, home-made jams and freshly-made coffee. Our light and spacious bedroom came with its own terrace, fluffy, white towels and showers with plenty of power and water – not always the case elsewhere!
Altogether our time at Villa Britannia was a delight, as were Luisa and Nino – we were totally charmed by them all![/two_third]

Taormina holiday and Wedding  2012 

The villa lived up to and then went on to exceed all of our expectations. The location just outside of the town was ideal and was just a comfortable stroll to get to the start of the Corso Umberto. Luisa and her family could not have been any more helpful and they even helped with all of the plans and arrangements for our wedding. We will definitely return and would not hesitate in recommending the villa. We would like to thank Luisa, Francesca, and especially their father Nino for our wedding breakfast and to each of them for making our stay so special and looking after us so well

“Stunning views, wonderful garden , stunning views and warm hospitality”

Everything about our experience at Villa Britannia was wonderful. The villa was well-appointed and the location was stunning, with views of the sea from nearly every angle and a wonderful garden setting. (She also has a spacious garage, a boon to worried Americans with a rental car to tend to.) The highlight, however, was the helpfulness and kindness of Luisa. She saw us through the diffulties of a late arrival and helped with retrieving misdirected baggage. We’ll never forget her kind welcome and provisions to tide us over until we could get supplies for ourselves. She oriented us to the town and made wonderful suggestions for outings, markets and dining, enhancing our stay. We highly recommend Villa Britannia and hope to return there to spend more time in beautiful Taormina.

“Splendid Sicilian Villa”

“The Villa is comfortable, beautifully appointed and provides exquisite views of the sea and the surrounding countryside. It is also centrally located — a short walk to the center of town. Nino and Luisa, the owners, are not only incredibly helpful, but also lots of fun to hang out with. (And both are fluent in English.) As an added bonus, the breakfasts were wonderful!
For part of the stay we had the villa all to ourselves. What a treat! My wife and I would definitely return.SPLENDID

Paradise in the sky”

Ben New york 2012 
My partner and I stayed at Villa Britannia and had an unbelievable, magical time. Luisa and her dear, dear father, Nino, were beyond gracious hosts. Words can’t describe. We not only fell in love with the stunningly beautiful villa, but with our lovely hosts. The villa is on an extremely quiet street surrounded by lush gardens. Our room was spacious and perfectly appointed with more than comfortable bed and bathroom, and a private terrace with tremendous views. Service was impeccable, and breakfast was fresh and delicious. Our time there was relaxing and restorative. The air was thick with the smell of jasmine and orange blossoms. Luisa and Nino gave us superb recommendations on where to eat, shop, or just enjoy the best views. I cannot speak highly enough of our experience in their care. Please do pay them a visit – you’re in for a treat!

“Villa Britannia has it all !! “

Jane California 2012 
My husband, sister, brother-in-law and I recently stayed at Villa Brittania for a week. I did a lot of research to find a rental and by far this was the best. The house has plenty of space, is beautifully decorated ( Luisa did a fabulous job ), and the location is perfect. The Villa was equipped with everything we needed to make our stay comfortable. Luisa even arranged to have our laundry done. Every morning from the terrace I watched the most beautiful sunrises. We enjoyed Nino’s visits everyday when he came to water his fabulous gardens. I would recommend this Villa to anyone who wants to experience the true flavor of Sicily while staying in a place where you can feel so comfortable that it feels like home.

“Truly Amazing Villa”

This villa is better than the photos. Our beautiful bright room had it’s own modern bathroom and a wonderful terrace with a view of the sea. Luisa is truly a warm and wonderful person and her father is charming and helpful. They were always there with suggestions for sight seeing and restaurant recommendations. Patricia’s breakfasts on the terrace were magical: homemade croissants, special fruit preparations, homemade jams and jellies!! The locations is a short walk to a market and a store to buy groceries. We enjoyed buying some bread, homemade salami, wonderful cheese and olives and having a long leisurely lunch on the terrace. Luisa also organizes cooking lessons with a experienced chef, Carmelo, and we had so much fun preparing an amazing Sicilian lunch which we enjoyed on the terrace. Taormina is amazing, Villa Britannia is amazing but most importantly, Luisa, Nino and Patricia were amazing!! You will NOT be disappointed!!

“Wonderful place and great hospitality

Sandesh geogia Usa 2012 
Place is impeccably decorated where you will instantly feel home. Luisa was a great host and really tries her best to ensure that guests have a memorable experience. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Fantastic Kitten Glasgow 2012 

My partner and I travelled to Sicily to get married in May. We stayed in the beautiful Villa Britannia. We cannot emphasise enough how perfect this villa was and the attention to detail provided by Luisa and her family. The villa has everything you could wish for in relation to comfort. It has been decorated beautifully with traditional Sicilian art.
More importantly, Luisa is a fabulous host and we were treated like part of the family for our stay. Luisa and her Dad Nino made us a beautiful breakfast on the morning of our wedding. The whole day had been organised by Luisa, including the booking of our wedding meal. She did a wonderful job and I would recommend her services to anyone looking to get married in beautiful Taormina.

 

This post is also available in Italiano.